food

♨ Home Cooking: Japanese Curry ♨

imageedit_7_8011835835

Hello, everyone~ ヾ(^∇^)

Just recently, I had Japanese curry served with brown rice for lunch, which sparked the idea that I should share my homemade recipe with you all!  I know that there are a wide variety of Japanese curry recipes as well as Indian and Thai–but lately, I’ve been confident enough with my cooking skills to pass it on to those who strive to expand their library of daily main courses.

And so, I’ve decided that with this blog, I should post my homemade family recipes from time to time, sharing my limited knowledge with the world ♥

Before learning how to make this dish though, I would go out sometimes–just to eat Japanese curry at restaurants.  I’ve also had friends made some for me.  From my personal experience, a Japanese curry dish wasn’t really expensive–and I really loved it ♥  Then, about a year ago, my fiancee, who knew the recipe by heart, decided to teach me the way his family has always made it.  It took me a lot of patience, determination, and practice–but I could now make it for those I love and care about and for myself as well ( ˘▽˘)っ♨

imageedit_3_5240069378.jpg

Japanese Curry (2 Servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole large potato, peeled/unpeeled & diced (bite-sized)
  • 2 cups beef, diced (bite-sized)
  • 1/2 cup baby carrots, sliced (bite-sized)
  • 1/4 cup onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 box of GOLDEN CURRY brand (Hot) – Curry Paste blocks or your preferred curry paste block brand
  • Vegetable oil
  • Salt & Black Pepper
  • Garlic Powder (optional)

Kitchenware Needed:

  • A medium pot
  • A medium non-stick skillet pan
  • A mixing spoon (durable & heat resistant)
  • Kitchen gloves
  • A large kitchen bowl
  • A kitchen strainer

Preparations:

For my lunch, I had rubbed salt & black pepper on all of the diced beef cubes, along with garlic powder, the night before for best taste results (and left them in the refrigerator).  For you, you can just rub all the salt, black pepper, and garlic powder into the meat just minutes before the cooking starts.  Be sure to wash your hands thoroughly before and after this process.  Also, don’t forget to have the rice cooking or already cooked by this time.

Directions:

1. Fill a pot halfway with water.  Find a stovetop to put the pot on, with medium heating.  When the water starts bubbling/boiling, put in your diced potatoes and sliced carrots.  Be careful and don’t rush yourself.  You are dealing with hot water.  If the boiling water is being too harsh, turn down the heat setting by a little bit.  Be sure to check them while cooking the meat.

2. With the skillet pan, preheat it to medium heating.  Pour in a good amount of vegetable oil.  Make sure the vegetable oil is able to cover more than half of the pan and a good portion of the center.  Wait for a minute before putting in the beef cubes.  Stir them around with the mixing spoon now and then, add in the onion slices, and continue doing this until they are turning brown or well-cooked.  Also, don’t forget about your potatoes & carrots.

3. If your potatoes & carrots are soft (test by trying to cut the potatoes in half with the spoon), turn off the pot’s stovetop.  Put the kitchen strainer into the large bowl.  Wear your kitchen gloves if the pot’s handle is too hot and be sure to carefully drain the pot of its hot water over the strainer.  This makes the process easier because if the vegetables fall out, they will be falling into the strainer instead.  For me, because I didn’t have a strainer, I carefully drained the hot water over the sink, slowly and making sure the vegetables didn’t fall out.

4.  Once you have drained the vegetables, carefully put them into the skillet pan where you are cooking the beef and onion slices.  Then, pour in water–enough to barely cover the meat and potatoes.  Take out your box of curry paste blocks.  Wait for a minute or two before breaking off two curry paste blocks and put them into the pan.

5.  Mix the beef, vegetables, water, and curry paste altogether in a slow, huge circular motion for a couple of minutes.  This helps spread the curry paste around throughout the food.  I emphasize this because it is really important to get that curry flavor ( ´∀`)っ

6.  Now, after the mixing, see if the curry’s consistency is now turning thick or if it is still thin and liquid-like.  If the curry is too thick for your liking, add in a little bit of water and stir it around again.  If the curry is too liquid-like for you, add in another curry paste block (or two! depending on your preference) to make it thicker and continue mixing.  For me, I like my Japanese curry to be on the thicker side, so I usually put in another curry paste block and mix it altogether once more.

7.  Once you get the curry consistency that you like, turn off the stove.  Move the skillet pan off the stovetop.  Now, you can get a plate and serve your homemade Japanese curry with hot rice!  For me, I chose to serve mine along with brown rice, a healthier alternative.

NOTE:  You can double the amount of ingredients listed above–for a number of 4 servings.  Or triple the amount for 6 servings.  You can also substitute beef with chicken for a much healthier alternative as well and add in more vegetables if you want, with this recipe.

imageedit_10_9677069757.jpg

Hopefully, you like this recipe and find it helpful ♨(⋆‿⋆)♨  Did you find it easy to follow?  I try to not eat curry too much, maybe once in a great while, because it can pack a lot of calories, especially once you serve it with rice.  But it’s delicious, isn’t it? ♥  Have you ever eaten Japanese curry before though?

Love, Yoko ♥

 

Leave a Reply

