beauty

DIY Skincare Magic: Easy Rice Milk Toner

Hello everyone~

Recently, I’ve become extremely interested in DIY Skin Care remedies as I am not a wealthy person who can afford all of the expensive skin care products that I want (´°ω°`)  Not only that, I thought that it would be really fun to explore what our grocery stores and Mother Nature can provide for us beyond just food, health, and fitness: natural skin care remedies.

Throughout life, we have been taught by parents, teachers, and the media that eating healthy and exercising will do wonders on our overall health.  We have always been told that fruits and vegetables are food, the same going for rice and etc.  But did you know that what you have now in your refrigerator and pantry–may also do wonders for your skin?

imageedit_14_7646648082

The other night, I made myself a rice milk toner with the rice my fiancee and I have in our apartment.  It was a quick, easy process with just two essential ingredients.

imageedit_18_3005363512

Rice milk is a dairy-free, natural anti-aging cream among Asian cultures.  It is believed to help many Asian women achieve healthy, beautiful skin because of its ability to fight acne, to eliminate blackheads, and to reduce excess facial oil and shine.  In addition, rice milk contains inositol, which minimizes pores and promotes good blood flow as well as healthy cell growth.  When used on skin, it also helps lighten blemishes and spots caused by the sun and hormonal changes.

Not only is it abundant with vitamin B3 (niacin), rice milk can whiten your skin without any negative side effects and provide bright, glowing skin when used daily.  Squalene, a powerful antioxidant also found in rice milk, helps protect you from sun damage, a leading cause for wrinkles.  It too is known to calm irritation, reduce redness, moisturize the skin, and prevent dryness.

Easy Rice Milk Toner

Ingredients:

1/2 cup rice

1 cup water

Kitchenware Needed:

Small container with lid

Strainer

Directions:

1.  Pour the water, along with the rice, into a small container.  After you do so, put on the lid.

2.  Let the rice and water sit overnight inside the container.  Make sure to place it inside your refrigerator.

3.  The next morning, take it from the refrigerator.  Drain the rice milk from the container with a strainer–over a small bowl or container of your choice.  After doing this, put the rice aside.

4.  To use the rice milk, dip a cotton ball or folded-up paper towel into it.

5.  Dab the cotton ball or paper towel all over  your face.

6.  Leave the rice milk to dry on your face for the rest of the day or night.  If you wish, you may cook the rice portion for food.

Another faster way of making the rice milk is pouring the water into a small pot, wait for it to boil, pour the rice into it, and let it boil altogether again until you see the milky formula substance.  Drain the hot rice milk from the rice into a small container, let it cool for a while, and then you may use it once it is no longer hot.

The rice milk you made should last for about 1 to 2 weeks max.  I find it easier to use the formula at night, so you can just go to bed without thinking much about it.  Use it daily/nightly for maximum effects. 

How did just using this easy rice milk toner made me feel?

imageedit_25_2718974582
Before I used the rice milk on my face.  My face was flushed and red.
imageedit_27_5738496601
After 5 – 10 minutes of using the rice milk on my face.  My face seems to be instantly glowing and a lot of brighter than before.

Well, when I was dabbing the cool rice milk toner all over my face, I felt it being absorbed into my oily skin.  It was gently eliminating all the dirt and excess oil off my face.  After a few minutes, my skin wasn’t so shiny anymore, and I noticed how gently the toner had tightened my skin.  It…just felt really nice and clean.  Refreshing even.

imageedit_22_6108570776

I also love the faint rice fragrance it was giving off.

Interested in more DIY skincare remedies?  I will be publishing at least one or two a month.  Have you tried a homemade rice milk toner before?  Comment below with your experiences with it or if you made one from this DIY remedy, share how it made your skin feel! (*´▽`*)

Love, Yoko ♥

Leave a Reply

