beauty

♡ Makeup Review: ELF Lip Stain ♡

imageedit_23_8876963250.jpg

Hello, everyone! (*´▽`*)

It’s just barely the beginning of September, but I’m already really excited for Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas! ♡(ŐωŐ人)  There are so many things I look forward to, and I’ll fill you all in as the special days loom closer.

Anyway, one of those things will be occasional beauty reviews, starting with this post! ♥♥♥

Here, our first product will be the ELF Lip Stain – Crimson Crush.

I actually got this because I needed something cheap and quick.  Honestly, I’m not a huge fanatic of lipstick because the ones I usually put on don’t last long and rub off easily whenever I drink (but then again, I never have much experience with lipstick, so it could just be that I didn’t buy the good ones).

I’ve owned lip tints or lip stains in the past, and so, I was more familiar with these than with lipsticks.

imageedit_27_6262088868.jpg

First Thoughts:

I first thought that the product itself was pretty nice and simple, because for example, if the lip stain’s color is Crimson Crush (red), it comes in red.  If the lip stain color’s pink, it comes in pink.  So, it was easy to find which color you were looking for.

But when I removed the cap, the lip stain looked like a marker to me, and so, as I was applying the product on, I couldn’t help but feel that I was coloring my own lips with a marker.

The Up-Side(s):

Some of the online reviews claimed that the lip stain felt dry, but it wasn’t like that in my case.  The product was instead–really smooth and colorful on my lips.  Maybe it was because my lips weren’t cracked or dry.

Anyway, I thought the overall feel of it was completely different from the way lipsticks make my lips feel.  Instead of feeling heavy or caked, the lip stain felt really light.  Not only that, the color showed really well meaning it was highly pigmented–and it stayed on for the whole day even after drinking beverages.  There was no clumping, and when my fiancee wiped his finger against my lips, there was no smudging also.

The Down-Side(s):

It was great when I first used the lip stain, but a few days later, when I used it again, I found out that the product seemed to have run dry like a dead marker.  So, I had to work twice as hard with it.  In the end, the color managed to come through but I was already feeling quite disappointed.  Then, a few weeks went by, and when I used the lip stain a 3rd time, it worked just as well as the first time–which really surprised me.

You get what you paid for.  I initially wanted something cheap and quick.  That’s why I picked up this ELF Lip Stain in the first place.

The Overall Experience:

I feel that if you are looking for a low-cost product that will help you get through one or two special events, this is what you should get.  If the lip stain stops working after a few uses, you can always buy another for about $2.  So, if you don’t mind going through a few of them at a time, go for it.  But if you would rather invest in a more expensive and longer-lasting product (one that will get you through multiple occasions), then, you should probably skip out on this product.

imageedit_31_9309891484.jpg

Overall, I rate this ELF Lip Stain: ♥♥♥

A 3 out of 5 hearts.

Though the product did help me get through a couple of special occasions, I was left with mixed feelings.  I’d be upset if the lip stain runs out on me when I need it the most, and I’d be happy if the product comes through with its highly pigmented and smooth results like the first time it did for me.  And so, I can only say that you should definitely get this if you want something cheap and easy to use ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )

I hope that this review has helped you!

Love, Yoko ♥

Leave a Reply

